A Sky Of Words – You Know This

When I say the heart
You know it’s a metaphor
An unseen shore brimming with
Unseen sights, shimmering sails

You know it means love
And all jacktations and palpitations and permutations therein
That the heart beats hard
That the heart beats fast
That the heart is talking to us and to you and through me
And to me and through you

You know this

Even though the lungs inflate
The lungs sigh, scattered cry
They swell and boom and create
And, man, do they sonicboom
The I can’t breathes, the scent of doom

You know this

Even though the gut swells
With gusts of butterflies
Flutters and flitters
Kaleidoscopes of queasy love
Palls of inadvertent cravings and longings
And awkward sounds gonging

You know this

Even though the head is an alchemist
Filling beakers and tubes
Converting iron to gold and back again,
A cocktail of chemicals so cruel
Concocting casual care and fair
Stares into deep eyes that somehow don’t drown
It’s the mad scientist
The love struck lyricist
The architect

You know this

And so when I say ‘heart’
You know I don’t mean contracts or 4/4 beats
I mean uncontrollable rhythms
I mean inhalations unfathomable
I mean a brew both charming and dangerously flammable

2 thoughts on “A Sky Of Words – You Know This

Leave a Reply

